Skip to content
IBEW 520 - 2020 Endorsed Candidates

IBEW 520 Endorsed Candidates: 2020 General Election

For the upcoming election, IBEW Local 520, along with the Austin Labor Council and many of the building trades and unions in the Central Texas area, has endorsed candidates based on the determination that they have or will support labor and the issues that will help our union succeed.

It is essential that we, IBEW Local 520 Brothers and Sisters, support the candidates that support our causes, regardless of political affiliation.

When we evaluate who to support, topics such as the candidate’s stance or voting record on critical union construction issues are evaluated. This can include support for Registered Apprenticeship Programs, Project Labor Agreements/Community Benefit Agreements, Prevailing Wage, including the federal Davis-Bacon Act and proper enforcement of independent contractor laws.

Voting for candidates that support our industry, our expertise, our paychecks is a vote for our future.

The following candidates are proudly endorsed by IBEW Local 520 and the Austin Central Labor Council:


Joe Biden
U.S. Senate
MJ Hegar
Railroad Commissioner
Chrysta Castañeda
Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice
Amy Clark Meachum
Texas Supreme Court, Place 6
Kathy Cheng
Texas Supreme Court, Place 7
Staci Williams
Texas Supreme Court, Place 8
Gisela Triana

U.S. House

U.S. House, District 10
Mike Siegel
U.S. House, District 17
Rick Kennedy
U.S. House, District 21
Wendy Davis
U.S. House, District 25
Julie Oliver
U.S. House, District 31
Donna Imam
U.S. House, District 35
Lloyd Dogget

Texas Senate

Texas Senate, District 20
Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa
Texas Senate, District 21
Sen. Judith Zaffirini
Texas Senate, District 24
Clayton Tucker

Texas House

Texas House, District 45
Rep. Erin Zwiener
Texas House, District 46
Rep. Sheryl Cole
Texas House, District 47
Rep. Vikki Goodwin
Texas House, District 48
Rep. Donna Howard
Texas House, District 49
Rep. Gina Hinojosa
Texas House, District 50
Rep. Celia Israel
Texas House, District 51
Rep. Eddie Rodriguez
Texas House, District 52
Rep. James Talarico
Texas House, District 136
Rep. John Bucy

Travis County

Travis County Commissioner, Precinct 1
Jeff Travillion
Travis County Commissioner, Precinct 3
Ann Howard
Travis County Judge
Andy Brown
District Attorney
José Garza
Travis County Sheriff
Sally Hernandez
Travis County Constable, Precinct 1
Tonya Nixon
Travis County Constable, Precinct 2
Adan Ballesteros

Austin City Council

Austin City Council, District 2
David Chincanchan
Austin City Council, District 4
Greg Casar
Austin City Council, District 6
Jimmy Flannigan
Austin City Council, District 7
Leslie Pool
Austin City Council, District 10
Alison Alter

Austin Independent School District

AISD, District 2
John Mckiernan-Gonzalez
AISD, District 3
Kevin Foster
AISD, District 5
Lynn Boswell
AISD, At-Large Position 8
Noelita Lugo

City of Austin Propositions

YES on Prop A
Public Transit System Funding
YES on Prop B
Transportation Improvements Bond

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top