skip to Main Content

IBEW 520 endorses political candidates who support issues important to the building trades

IBEW 520, along with the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, proudly supports all workers.

PoliticalWe defend the right to collectively bargain and other rights that support the union construction industry. Being involved in politics is a critical part of this process — to make sure the voice of our members, and all working people, is heard.

Local 520 does not align itself with one political party over another. Rather, we support candidates, who support us and fight for issues to help working families and allow responsible contractors to competitively bid on work.

Our members are involved and become informed voters at the local, state and federal level. We strongly encourage all Local 520 members and their families to register to vote and support candidates, who support our members on the issues important to our livelihoods. 

The following candidates are proudly endorsed by IBEW Local 520:



Joe Biden

U.S. Senate

MJ Hegar 

Railroad Commissioner 

Chrysta Castañeda

Texas Supreme Court Chief Justice 

Amy Clark Meachum 

Texas Supreme Court, Place 6

Kathy Cheng

Texas Supreme Court, Place 7 

Staci Williams

Texas Supreme Court, Place 8 

Gisela Triana

U.S. House

U.S. House, District 10

Mike Siegel

U.S. House, District 17

Rick Kennedy

U.S. House, District 21

Wendy Davis

U.S. House, District 25

Julie Oliver

U.S. House, District 31

Donna Imam

U.S. House, District 35

Lloyd Dogget

Texas Senate

Texas Senate, District 20 

Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa

Texas Senate, District 21 

Sen. Judith Zaffirini

Texas Senate, District 24

Clayton Tucker

Texas House

Texas House, District 45

Rep. Erin Zwiener

Texas House, District 46

Rep. Sheryl Cole

Texas House, District 47 

​Rep. Vikki Goodwin

Texas House, District 48

​Rep. Donna Howard

Texas House, District 49

Rep. Gina Hinojosa

Texas House, District 50

​Rep. Celia Israel

Texas House, District 51

​Rep. Eddie Rodriguez

Texas House, District 52

Rep. James Talarico

Texas House, District 136

Rep. John Bucy

Travis County

Travis County Commissioner, Precinct 1

Jeff Travillion

Travis County Commissioner, Precinct 3

Ann Howard

Travis County Judge

Andy Brown

District Attorney

José Garza

Travis County Sheriff

Sally Hernandez

Travis County Constable, Precinct 1

Tonya Nixon

Travis County Constable, Precinct 2

Adan Ballesteros

Austin City Council

Austin City Council, District 2

David Chincanchan

Austin City Council, District 4

Greg Casar

Austin City Council, District 6

Jimmy Flannigan

Austin City Council, District 7

Leslie Pool

Austin City Council, District 10

Alison Alter

Austin Independent School District 

AISD, District 2

John Mckiernan-Gonzalez

AISD, District 3

Kevin Foster

AISD, District 5

Lynn Boswell

AISD, At-Large Position 8

Noelita Lugo

City of Austin Propositions

YES on Prop A

Public Transit System Funding

YES on Prop B

Transportation Improvements Bond

Back To Top
Click 'Learn More' to learn how to Make Membership with IBEW Local Union No. 520